“Seek Treasures of Faith Here and Now”

Throughout the Lenten season this year, I will be reading a daily devotional by Henri Nouwen titled Called to Life, Called to Love. This is just a reflection from Sunday during the first week of Lent.

I highlighted a passage that said:

       “When we are impatient, we try to get away from where we are. We behave as if the real thing will happen tomorrow, later and somewhere else. Let’s be patient and trust that the treasure we look for is hidden in the ground on which we stand.”

Patience is something I have an abundance of when it comes to other people. It takes a really long time for anything to aggravate. You could say I have some pretty long fuses. This is a great trait to have, especially since I’m planning on working with children for the rest of my life. But when it comes to personal situations in my life, I find it really difficult to be patient with myself. I always wan to move forward with my life because I feel like I’m stuck and stagnant without much progress taking place.

There are times in my life when I wish I was a little bit older so I could be out of college, married, and teaching in a classroom full-time. But when I start getting impatient and wishing for the future to arrive before it’s supposed to, I have to stop and remind myself not to “put the cart before the horse.” I just need to trust that God will always be with me and that he has a plan for me so I can reach my goals in life. I definitely know that he’s paving a path for my future because of all of the things I’m going through right now, and I need to trust in him, even when things don’t seem to be going “right.” (AKA: The way I want them to.)

Having patience with myself will definitely pay off in the end. I just need to keep chugging along and live life in the here and now. With God by my side, I’ll never have to be afraid of my future, and eagerly await the discovery of what God has planned for me in my long journey with life and faith.

 

One thought on ““Seek Treasures of Faith Here and Now”

  1. Yes, it is interesting how hard we can be on ourselves. I have the same problem. I do think that we are to practice “self-care”; when Jesus said to love God and love your neighbor, he included, “as yourself.” That seems to me to be a word that keeps me and the rest of the world in balance. My most often stated admonition to friends is “Don’t forget to take care of yourself.”

Leave a Reply

