Ash Wednesday Service

This evening, I went to an Ash Wednesday service at my church and it was one of the most meaningful services I’ve been to. I’ve been attending Ash Wednesday services with my mom for the past 8 years or so, and they’ve made me think about my faith and all of the reasons Jesus died on the cross, but they’ve never been so clear to me before this evening.

Yesterday, my Human Development teacher talked about Ash Wednesday and was saying that by having the ashes be put on your forehead, you are being reminded that “From dust you came, and from dust you will return.” He was saying that this statement is a reminder that Jesus was put on this earth to walk with us as a human and because he was mortal, just like every single one of us, his death is something that we can relate to, simply because he died for all of our sins. This realization hit me so hard this evening, and I couldn’t quite explain why it was so emotionally striking this year in comparison to previous years.

We sang “What Wondrous Love Is This?” and that song always gets to me. Especially the first line that says: 

“What wondrous love is this, O my soul, O my soul!
What wondrous love is this, O my soul!
What wondrous love is this
That caused the Lord of bliss
To bear the dreadful curse for my soul, for my soul,
To bear the dreadful curse for my soul!”

This line is so incredibly powerful because it makes you think about  Jesus laying down his life for us, and I think that’s incredibly beautiful. I can’t think of anything more wonderful than that.

Leave a Reply

